Address: 3806 S. Michigan Ave. Year Built:
Solon S. Beman
Date Designated a Chicago Landmark:
February 10, 2010
This Chateauesque-style mansion was designed by Solon S. Beman, the noted architect of the company town of Pullman (a designated Chicago Landmark District). The original owner was building contractor John W. Griffiths, whose company constructed many of Chicago's iconic structures, including Union Station, the Merchandise Mart and the Civic Opera House Building. After Griffiths' death in 1937, the house acquired a new institutional use as the Quincy Club, a social club for African American railroad workers and their families. In 1961, the house became the first home of the DuSable Museum of African-American History, founded by husband and wife Charles and Dr. Margaret T. Burroughs.